(This is what I felt after watching the movie Life (2017). I am trying to be as vague as possible but it could contain some spoilers. If you do not want to have even a minor spoiler, DON’T read!)

Dreadful Calvin,

The first five or ten minutes of your story made me worry if I was putting my time into watching a story which did not deserve my time. Then, you decided to keep things interesting and then onward I was glued to my chair and watching the screen anxiously afraid to take my eyes off for the fear of losing the sight of you creeping by one of the humans.

I still wonder whether you were so good with Hugh (played by Ariyon Bakare) at first because you actually do have a tender side to your soul or was that merely fooling the stupid humans? As for me, I did not trust you from the first moment I saw you. Well, you proved me and most of the crew on the International Space Station right. It did not help that your shape reminded me of a starfish and that in turn reminded me of Patrick from SpongeBob who always annoyed me as a kid.

Then, you went ahead and did an unforgivable thing to Rory (played by Ryan Reynolds – how dare you do that to Ryan Reynolds’ character?). He was acting out of humanity to look after his friends and you sly, evil creature used that to your benefit. I will accept you are a great opponent and has more to offer than meets the eye. If the humans had been a little inhuman at that moment and decided to not send Rory to get Hugh back to safety and to keep the lab locked down, triumph would have been theirs. However, if that was the case the story would not have been this intriguing.

The water related airlock scene with the Commander (played by Olga Dihovichnaya) was a really painful scene to watch. It was even more painful as she was the only person who mouthed the fears I was having about your rapid growth.

As the movie progressed your creepiness increased. By the end of the movie, or rather from the first time you were showing your aggressive side I was thinking may be only Martian life form we can trust is John Jones (J’onn J’onzz). David (played by Jake Gyllenhaal) and Miranda (played by Rebecca Ferguson) fights against you until the very end. They add a lot of an emotional value to your story.

Watching the volume of your body increasing with every shot added to the fear you created. Though your story may remind people of other stories about creatures like you, I think there is originality there. I also think how your story unfolds is actually quite good.

What happened to you in the end? I think that will be question everyone will have in their mind after watching your story. I do not think we will get a chance to see you telling it to us. We will rather have to imagine it ourselves.

By the way, no thanks for making the name Calvin a synonym for fear and creepiness.

Let’s hope we never meet!

(This is one of the best movies of 2017 for me. If you have not already watched it and you enjoy science fiction and thriller movies, I encourage you to watch this.)

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Calvin… (or Life 2017)

Leave a Reply

