When I was 10 or 12, I went to the book store. Immediately, one book stole my heart. It had this beautiful cover with a little girl. If I bought the book, I could even get a bookmark with it for free. Therefore, mesmerized by the beautiful book cover, I bought the book. Then, I came home and started reading it. The story made no sense at all. Sure, some stories do not make any sense when we are little and seem to carry more meaning to adults. However, this book was not one of them. Even as an adult, that book makes no sense. The sole reason for that book being sold was the beautiful cover. My sister read it too. As someone older and wiser than me, she also came to the decision that this book carried no interesting story. That day she gave me and advice. “Don’t judge a book by its cover.” Since then, I read the post face of every book before I buy it. I even go through some pages to make sure the writing style suits my taste.

dont-judge-a-book-by-its-cover-quote-1

As a child, I did not know “Don’t judge a book by its cover” was an advice that carried a deeper meaning that its literary meaning. However, as I grew up, I found out that the same advice could be applied to people.

I have met various people in my life. Among them, I have seen some very interesting people. They are interesting because they hide their true-selves behind masks. Some people with the most innocent faces have proved themselves to be the cruelest, scheming, opportunistic human beings I have ever seen. At the same time, some, who are not immediately approved by the society because of their lack of good looks, have the most beautiful hearts. The lesson to learn here is that though our eyes make a judgement based on a person’s look, we should be open to the truth, which could be the exact opposite of our initial judgement.

Everyone of us meet people like Mr. Wickham from Pride and Prejudice, who use their good looks and nice gestures to charm people and take advantage of unsuspecting minds. If we are cautious enough, we will be able to protect ourselves from unnecessary troubles. Just keep in mind that “appearance deceives.”

One thought on “Appearance Deceives

  1. I use that phrase “don’t judge a book by its cover” all the time. When I go to a bookstore, I always read the blurb of a book even if the book cover is really pretty. And you’re right, it does apply to people too. I did sales last year so I talked to HUNDREDS of people in a week, and I usually wouldn’t talk to people who looked mean because I thought they’d be cruel, but I learned that they might just look mean because they’re having a bad day, and they’d actually be the nicest person I talked to that day. I know that when I’m having a bad day, I tend to scowl a lot, and people avoid me, but when I’m in a good mood, I’m the most approachable person ever.
    People are all different, and they all live different lives, so “don’t judge a book by its cover” is the best advice we can give each other and everyone else.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

