Vampire, the mystical and mythical, blood sucking, immortal being, began its journey in the popular culture or rather in the world of literature and then in to the silver screen and the big screen, with Bram Stoker’s “Dracula.” First published in 1897, it still is a very entertaining story; a timeless story.

I remember the first time I read Dracula. I think I was about 11 years old. The writing was so good that I could visualize every scene. As a result, I would not keep the book in my room at night, afraid of Dracula. Even when it was in my room, the front cover where Dracula is dripping blood, would be flipped over. Still, I kept reading the book even though I was terrified of Dracula. To this day, when the region Transylvania is mentioned somewhere, Dracula is the first thing that comes to my mind.

christopher-lee-dracula
Christopher Lee as Dracula

With “Interview with the Vampire” movie I got an opportunity to enter the world of vampire fiction by Anne Rice. Her vampire world is much similar to Bram Stoker’s dark world. She presents vampires as the dark creatures they should be, despite their attractive looks and powers.

interview-with-a-vampire

Then, in the recent years, vampires became more and more popular. The Twilight saga was another story about vampires. However, these vampires were seen more as sexy, love interests even though they were blood sucking, violent beings. I, myself was fascinated by Edward’s and Bella’s love story. However, I still think creating “sparkling” vampires was not a good idea.

As a result of hearing so much about “The Vampire Diaries” TV series, I thought about giving it a go. I watched the drama and got hooked. Who can resist Damon’s sarcastic remarks? Anyway, if I had not watched The Vampire Diaries, I would never have found Klaus Mikaelson. He is a very interesting character. Creation of his character was taking the vampire genre into a step farther as he is a vampire-werewolf hybrid. The TV series, however, has lost its original quality since they created their spin-off “The Originals” and shipped some of its valuable characters to this spin-off.

ddb7a0118c8f1ecfc79642f0549ff25c
Klaus Mikaelson

These are just a few of the vampire portrayals I have come across. However, there are some other TV shows, films and books that explore the same fantasy genre. I think they each have their own story to tell. Every story has its own fans. Most notably, vampires have evolved into these attractive creatures, who have dark souls, yet are much sought after. They are no longer the creatures that only give goose bumps.

I wonder what Bram Stoker would have thought if he could see all these creations based on his character? Would he be happy or not? Nevertheless,  I am eternally grateful  for him for creating this genre of fiction. He created an entire universe of fantasy. When more and more writers contribute to this genre, we will be able to see more and more stories. May be we will not agree with every story, yet we will be happy to explore each of those stories.

3 thoughts on “The Evolution of Vampires

  1. Really cool article. I love that the whole vampire genre hasn’t died out yet, it makes for great television and movies. It’s one of those genres that’s got so many possibilities for filmmakers. Anyhow, interesting read. Are you currently sharing your work on any other movie/tv platforms?

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, If you’re up for it, I’d love to help you get your writing seen on Moviepilot/Creators. I’d love to hear from you if you’re interested. You can find my contact details on my ‘About’ page.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

